RRBs & CGL EXAM 2018: Important Questions From FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cup-2018, RUSSIA

FIFA stands for “Federation Internationale de Football Association” in French. In English, it is known as “International Federation of Association Football”

Host country Russia
Dates 14 June – 15 July
Teams 32 (from 5 confederations)
Venue(s) 12 (in 11 host cities)

Important Fact & News

  • The 2018 FIFA World Cup is the 21st FIFA World Cup.
  • RUSSIA was awarded the hosting rights on 2 December 2010.
  • It is currently ongoing from 14 June and will end with the final match on 15 July 2018.
  • Official Logo

    FIFA World Cup-2018, RUSSIA

    2018 FIFA World Cup official logo

    The tournament logo inspired by “Russia’s rich artistic tradition and its history of bold achievement and innovation” was unveiled on 28 October 2014 by cosmonauts at the International Space Station.

  • Mascot

    Tournament mascot, wolf Zabivaka

    The official mascot “Zabivaka“—”an anthropomorphic wolf dressed in the colors of the Russian national team” for the tournament was unveiled 21 October 2016.
  • Match ball

    Match ball “Telstar 18
    The official match ball of the 2018 World Cup is called “Telstar 18” and is based on the name and design of the first Adidas World Cup ball from 1970. It was introduced on 9 November 2017.

Important Questions

  •  ICELAND and PANAMA will both be making their first appearances(Qualified for the first time in FIFA History) at a FIFA World Cup 2018.
  • ICELAND also becoming the smallest country in terms of population to reach the FIFA World Cup.
  • The final will take place on 15 July at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.
  • The winners of the World Cup will qualify for the 2021 FIFA Confederations Cup.
  • It is the first time three Nordic countries (Denmark, Iceland and Sweden) have qualified for the FIFA World Cup.
  • It is the first time Four Arab nations (Egypt, Morocco, Saudi Arabia and Tunisia) have qualified for the FIFA World Cup.
  • Notable countries that Failed to Qualify FIFA WORLD CUP 2018 :-
  • Four-time FIFA WORLD CUP Champion Italy (for the first time since 1958).
  • Three-time FIFA WORLD CUP runners-up the Netherlands (for the first time since 2002).
  •  2017 Africa Cup of Nations winners Cameroon.
  • Two-time Copa América champions and 2017 Confederations Cup runners-up Chile.
  • 2016 OFC Nations Cup winners New Zealand.
  •  2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup champions United States (for the first time since 1986).
  • Teams returning after absence of at least three FIFA WORLD CUP tournaments :-
  • Egypt returning after a 28-year absence (last appearance in 1990).
  • Morocco returning after a 20-year absence (last competed in 1998).
  • Peru returning after a 36-year absence (since 1982),
  • Senegal competing for the second time after reaching the quarter-finals in 2002.


A total of 12 stadiums in 11 Russian cities have been built and renovated for the FIFA World Cup 2018.

  • Opening matchLuzhniki Stadium
    Final :                        Luzhniki Stadium
  • Average venue capacity : 49,300 seats
    Largest venue : Luzhniki Stadium (81,000 seats)
    Smallest venueKaliningrad Stadium (35,212 seats)
Moscow Saint Petersburg Sochi
Luzhniki Stadium Otkritie Arena
(Spartak Stadium)
Krestovsky Stadium
(Saint Petersburg Stadium)
Fisht Olympic Stadium
(Fisht Stadium)
Capacity: 78,011 Capacity: 44,190 Capacity: 64,468 Capacity: 44,287
Вид на стадион Лужники.jpg Stadium Spartak in Moscow.jpg Spb 06-2017 img40 Krestovsky Stadium.jpg Fisht Stadium in January 2018.jpg

2018 FIFA World Cup is located in European Russia

Cosmos Arena
(Samara Arena)
Kazan Arena
Capacity: 41,970 Capacity: 42,873
Krylya Fakel test 1.jpg Kazan Arena 08-2016.jpg
Rostov-on-Don Volgograd
Rostov Arena Volgograd Arena
Capacity: 43,472 Capacity: 43,713
Rostov-Arens (april 2018) 01.jpg Construction of Volgograd Arena inside 04.jpg
Nizhny Novgorod Saransk Yekaterinburg Kaliningrad
Nizhny Novgorod Stadium Mordovia Arena Yekaterinburg Arena
(Ekaterinburg Arena)
Kaliningrad Stadium
Capacity: 43,319 Capacity: 41,685 Capacity: 33,061 Capacity: 33,973
Nizhny Novgorod Stadium 2018-05-02 (2).jpg Стадион Mordovia arena.jpg Estadio Central (Ekaterinburg-arena).jpg Kaliningrad stadium - 2018-04-07.jpg

Other Important Questions

  • The 2014 FIFA World Cup was the 20th FIFA World Cup took place in Brazil from 12 June to 13 July 2014.
  • In The 2014 FIFA World Cup Germany defeated Argentina 1–0 to win the tournament.
  • In The 2014 FIFA World Cup Germany became the first European team to win a World Cup staged in the Americas.
  • The 2022 FIFA World Cup is scheduled to be the 22nd  FIFA World Cup to take place in Qatar. 
  • The 2026 FIFA World Cup will be the 23rd FIFA World Cup to take place in three North American countries (Canada, Mexico, United States).
  • “Whiteside broke Pelé’s” record as the youngest player to appear in a FIFA World Cup, when he debuted for Northern Ireland aged 17 years and 41 days at the 1982 World Cup in Spain.
  • Most titles won By   Brazil Team 5 Times.
  • Most FIFA World Cup appearances By   Brazil 21 Times (every tournament including 2018).
  • The 20 World Cup tournaments have been won by eight different nations. Brazil has won the most titles, five. The current champion is Germany, who won the title in 2014.
    World Cup-winning nations
    Titles Team Year(s)
    5  Brazil 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
    4  Germany 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014
    4  Italy 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
    2  Argentina 1978, 1986
    2  Uruguay 1930, 1950
    1  England 1966
    1  France 1998
    1  Spain 2010

Leave a Comment